Some sites have a tag called DOCTYPE. This tag appears before the starting HTML tag. It lets the browser know exactly what type of coding it is trying to display. There are 3 types of DOCTYPE :

HTML 4.0 Strict
Use this when you have really clean structural mark-up, free of any tags associated with layout. Use this together with CSS to get the font, color, and layout effects you want. This DOCTYPE includes all elements and attributes that have NOT been deprecated and do NOT appear in a frameset document.


HTML 4.0 Transitional
Most people writing web pages for the general public to access will use this DOCTYPE. The idea is to take advantage of HTML 4.0 features (including CSS) while making small adjustments to the mark-up to accomodate those viewing your pages with older browsers. This DOCTYPE includes everything in the Strict DOCTYPE, plus deprecated elements and attributes. (Most of which concern visual presentation.)

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "">

HTML 4.0 Frameset
Use this if you use HTML Frames to partition the browser window into two or more frames. This DOCTYPE includes everything in the Transisional DOCTYPE, pluse framses.

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "">

Advertise in the banner along the top, Click here!

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS! Text Link Ads